EARTH University was created by an act of the Costa Rican congress in 1986 (Law N° 7044), under which a two-board structure was established.  Under this law, the academic activities and strategic direction of EARTH University are guided by a 12-member Board of Directors comprised of both Costa Rican and non-Costa Rican directors.

Law 7044 also assigned the oversight, management and investment of an endowment fund to a Board of Trustees, comprised of five members. The President of the Board of Directors by virtue of his office is one of the five trustees, and the President of the Board of Trustees serves ex officio as a member of the EARTH Board of Directors.

The founding donors believed that this two board structure would provide checks and balances which would restrain spending and assure longer financial self-sufficiency.

In 1997, EARTH University Foundation, a registered Internal Revenue Code §501(c)(3) public charity with headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia, United States, was founded to support the educational mission of EARTH and a separately-elected Board of Trustees was created to monitor the collection, distribution and investment performance of its funds, in coordination with the EARTH Trust.

These boards work closely together, and their cooperation has much to do with EARTH’s success.  In addition to the president of the EARTH Board of Directors serving on the Board of Trustees, the Trustees’ president serves on the Board of Directors, and an EARTH Director serves as an EARTH University Foundation Trustee.  Furthermore, these Boards meet jointly at least annually and more frequently when appropriate, and communications between them and EARTH’s administration are extensive.

Board of Directors >>>
Sets the strategic direction for the University.
EARTH University Foundation Board of Trustees
Oversees the fundraising efforts of EARTH University Foundation in the United States.
EARTH University Board of Trustees >>>
EARTH Ventures Board >>>
President’s Alumni Advisory Council >>>